Tyler: the real-life hero vs. the storybook one

As I mentioned in my blog a few days back, today, I want to talk a bit about Tyler.

If you don’t know him, this is Tyler.

Tyler

Tyler is my brother. More importantly, Tyler is a hero, battling a cancerous brain tumour.

Much like my book, (if you’ve been reading along) it’s a little unclear at the moment how everything is panning out. We don’t know right now how successful the radiation and chemotherapy have been/are.

One thing that is clear is the response from the doctors, nurses and other hospital workers: that Tyler is the healthiest, most energetic and upbeat cancer patient they’ve had. If anyone’s got a chance of surviving this, he has.

Now, even though my protagonist, Tyler, is not that much like my brother, Tyler, thematically they are the same.

They’ve both had something of a “challenging adventure” thrust upon them, and have heroically, with the help of their friends, taken a stand. They’ve grown through adversity and are changed for the better.

And, of course, we don’t yet know exactly how it ends. But we have hope.

When Brandon Sanderson was trying to get published, most of the fantasy genre was almost entirely publishing stories of morally grey “more down to earth” characters, and I believe he got feedback from a number of editors/agents about making his characters more morally grey. He considered it deeply for a while, but ultimately decided to ignore all that advice because he wanted to tell stories about heroes, and it seems to paying off for him admirably.

I bring this up because I see myself much the same. I don’t want to just tell stories. I want to tell stories about heroes. Human heroes, but heroes all the same.

Tyler is one of those heroes. That may be in question right now if you are reading the book, because he’s a kind of an every man character, but ultimately, he is the hero of the story. He was always the hero of the story.

When I first dreamed up the story as a seven-thousand-word piece of short fiction, it was Tyler’s willingness to jump into action, even if he didn’t have a plan or know exactly how everything would turn out, that made him the hero. And that I think may be the defining trait that makes my protagonist Tyler based upon my brother Tyler. His daring.

It’s not recklessness, he’s usually pretty savvy about the risks involved, but nine-times-out-of-ten, he’ll take them without a blink of hesitation. That’s bravery. And that’s the stuff heroes are made of.

Even if I may be a bumbling first-time author, my story, at its core, is built upon bravery and willingness to act despite the odds, which will always be worth writing about.

In case you weren’t quite aware, or somehow missed the fact, all the proceeds for every book in this story, will not go to me personally, but to Tyler, to help pay for all his medical stuff. (Brain cancer is a tricky and expensive business.)

So please share the books; they’re cheap to make them quick and easy to enjoy and so you have literally no reasons to not recommend them to your friends.

With the recent release of Part Three: The QuestPart One: The Secret and Part Two: The Mystery are both now down to only 99c (US) on Amazon Kindle. Why not grab them today?

 

One thought on “Tyler: the real-life hero vs. the storybook one

Leave a Reply

