Support Tyler: eBooks and brain tumours

The Arthur Liens Abductions

So you may or may not have heard about my brother, Tyler.

Tyler, like everyone in my family, has a great love for music and the performing arts. Growing up, he was always out and about doing something; dancing, singing, flipping, juggling, boarding, unicycling, playing guitar, acting, performing; dreaming dreams of Broadway and an acting career.

After school, he went to America to perform on cruise ships for a few years and after a little bit of back and forth between Australia and America, ended up in the US studying Music, Dance and Theatre at BYU, where a little numbness and neck pain while doing flips led to an MRI and the discovery of a brain tumour, which has since proved to be cancerous.

A little divine providence later and he’d quickly caught the attention of a rather prolific brain surgeon in Utah, so it made little sense to fly him back to Australia and put him through the public healthcare system here.

So we did what we could here to raise money. My mother and friends organised a fundraiser rock concert at my mother’s primary school. My Dad helped organise a number of newspaper articles to help raise awareness about Tyler in the community. A US friend even created a Fundrazr account. And what did I do?

Well, I shared every article and post I could about Tyler on Facebook to help raise awareness, but that was about all I was in any position to do. And (though this sounds ridiculous to say) that was really hard for me.

Though he and I may not be the most similar (of the five of us boys) in looks or personality, we are the closest in age, and we’ve shared rooms on and off (and the others) with each other since we could talk. And he’s my brother. Of course I wanted to help in any way I could.

So one day, I was wondering what I could do to help, and it occurred to me that I could use my writing talents to help Tyler. I had a short story that I wanted to stretch out into a novel, so I named my protagonist Tyler and got to work.

Although, I quickly realised that by the time I got a whole novel done, all the buzz about Tyler could be long gone. So I decided to break the story up into five (roughly ten-thousand-word) chunks and release them monthly on Amazon to keep things fresh in people’s minds and encourage them to keep supporting Tyler and not forget about him.

And then when I’m done, I can compile all the pieces into one novel-sized eBook and release that one too!

Now, you may or may not have guessed by the eBook cover at the top of the blog, but, PART ONE IS OUT NOW!!!!

Yes, that’s right! The Arthur Lien Abductions, Part One: The Secret is available right now on Amazon (Kindle), it’s YA Urban Fantasy Mystery Romance, and if all the above backstory is not enough to encourage you to buy a copy and support Tyler, here’s a bit about the story itself, the blurb-

Tyler has a secret. A secret crush. But when he realises that his crush is the newest in a series of missing persons in his town, that when he saw her go into the competing electronics store across the street, he may have been the last person to see her at all, he enlists the help of his best customer, a girl secretly crushing on him to help find and save her and the others. But what will he find first, the missing girl, or the potential love that had been in front of his face the whole time?

You can purchase it here for $1.99 (US) and help support Tyler through his radiation and chemotherapy.

Please share this with your friends.

(If somehow, $1.99 seems too much to pay to support a worthy cause, you’ll be happy to know that this book will be dropped down to $0.99 (US) next month when the next book in the series is released.)

2 thoughts on “Support Tyler: eBooks and brain tumours

Leave a Reply

